Tribute Paintings

September 12, 2011 at 3:14 am (Art)

Towson Community Art Center Project
 
 
In one of my classes at the Towson Community Arts Center, we were asked to create several mixed media paintings based on the work of famous artists.   My paintings, starting on the top left, were inspired by Artemisia, Manet, Picasso, Monet, Duchamp, and Warhol. 
 
Artemisia’s Judith Beheading Holofernes features rich draperies and spurting blood, which encouraged my deeply-colored, velvety heart painting.  My girl with the bubble image represents the coloring found in several Manet paintings, including Luncheon on the Grass.  My third work is a paint outline layered over many transparent papers to imitate Picasso’s later work, like Girl Before a MirrorThe texture of my Our Lady of Guadalupe painting is very loosely based on Monet’s rapid brushstrokes, as in his Impression painting.  Duchamp”s Nude Descending a Staircase, prompts the monochromatic color scheme and layering of my next print and my final painting represents both Warhol’s pop art and his studio, the Factory.  When displayed, the Sam Cooke image will hang from a thread at the bottom of the canvas.
 
I intend to continue this project with works representing Audrey Flack, Jackson Pollock, and Hollis Sigler.
 
 
 
 
1 Comment

  1. gabyprimrose said,

    I love your paintings!! seriously..I wanna buy the girl with the bubble..its my favorite 🙂 I also like the Guadalupe virgin and how you incorporated Spanish into the work..do you speak it?

Leave a Reply

